Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    Like usual I am having a problem getting things to display right in netscape, and mozilla. The problem is when I use a line-break in netscape the links become too far spaced. In explorer it is of course perfectly spaced.

    To test the distance I gave visited links a black background.

    Example of what I did:
    Code:
    .menu a:visited {
    background: black;
    }
    In explorer all the links were so close together there was no space between the links. In netscape, and mozilla the space between links equals exactly half the size of the link itself. I have tried looking around for some css command, but I couldn't find any that helped. I also validated both my html, and css code, and it is error free, so thats not an issue.

    Any help is appreciated

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    You should probably show us what you are talking about through a URL.

    Thanks.


  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    Load up this link with IE, and then load it up with netscape, and you can compare the spacing difference. The black background represents links.

    http://206.116.224.94:400/linebreakspacing.asp

    it should work now, I forgot to sub my computer name for ip.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Aleister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    250
    Member #
    2329
    Link not working ?
    The Temple of Dagon | Dagon Design
    "That is not dead which can eternal lie, And with strange aeons even death may die." - HPL

  6. #5
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    That's a local IP dude.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    I had the wrong link address, let me know if it works now.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Okay, I figured it out (I can see the page since I know your IP).


    The thing is, you're telling each link that it is .70em, which is a relative font size. The div containing the links is still at 1.0em, thus line-spacing is at 1.0, while font sizes are .7.

    The solution?

    in your .menu declaration put in font-size: 0.7em;

    Now.. for all your .menu a:link, etc change two things.

    First, change it to .menu>a:link, and secondly get rid of the font-size declaration.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    Thx a lot dude! It works even better then before. I just have a few questions what does the ">" do? How did you know the div was 1.0em in size?

  10. #9
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Well, relative basically means compared to outer container.

    So, if the outer container is 10px and the innner container is .5em, it will be 5px.

    Also, the > denotes something inside of another. For example:
    p>ul>li would distiguish this:
    Code:
    <p>
      <ul>
        <li>This right here!</li>
      </ul>
    </p>
    so, .menu>a denotes an <a> tag within the class "menu", which <div class="menu><a href="#">This</a></div> qualifies for.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    That makes sense, thx for the explanation. I should really stop using IE for testing web pages, period. It seems no matter what you do it always will work in one way or another in IE whereas other browsers such as netscape, and mozilla seem to be a lot more picky.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com