Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Advanced links?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    A Little South of Sanity
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    405
    I am trying to make a webpage to use as my desktop and I was wondering if there was a way that I can make a link to an ActiveX CLSID or one that will run an app using HTML or javascript?

    the file that it is in has to have an .htm or .html extension or windows will not allow it to be used as the desktop.

    i'm not sure if it's possible or how i would do that, but if it IS or if anyone has a suggestion on where I might be able to find some more info on it, please let me know.
    I am insane and you are my insanity.

  2.  

  3. #2
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    what operating system do you have?
    JR

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    You can embed an ActiveX object into a webpage easily. Security is a huge concern considering ActiveX objects can do pretty much anything, but if you write the control/object yourself or use a widely trusted one then you should be fine.

    Appending to what jrc said, you need Windows 98 or later, or Windows 95/NT with IE4. In other words you need to support active desktop.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    A Little South of Sanity
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    405
    Sorry, I was just comming back in to clarify a bit, I don't know what I was thinking when I posted that :P

    I am running Win98 and what I am trying to do is make a webpage to be used as a desktop. The reason I asked about ActiveX is so I can make a link to explorer.exe, control panel, etc.

    How would I go about doing that?
    I am insane and you are my insanity.

  6. #5
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    This is going to sound really stupid, but why not just use the desktop as the desktop and put all of your shortcuts on it?
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  7. #6
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    i have done this before, i did it in flash, and when i specified a link i linked it straight to the program eg. explorer - i just linked it to my homepage and flash i linked it to C:/macromedia/flash.exe (example). I assume this can be done by using normal HTML aswell

    This however opens up a download box, but when you press open as opposed to save it opens the program.

    Hope this helps
    JR

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    A Little South of Sanity
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    405
    jravenscroft -- i had tried that too. do you know if there is a way to skip that popup or auto-open local files? wouldn't work too well for a desktop if every app i ran asked if i was sure I wanted to run it :P

    TheGAME1264 -- no real reason, just wanted to try to do it.. sdee if it could be done and see how it works
    I am insane and you are my insanity.

  9. #8
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    not sure, but when you add an image to your unsaved page using dreamweaver it adds it in this format...
    "file:///C|/my%20documents/my%20pictures/example.gif"
    so maybe that will work but don't count on it, it is just a guess.
    JR

  10. #9
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    That's an extremely cool idea though, make a Flash-based desktop. If somebody did that and included links for My Computer, Windows Explorer, etc. that would rock.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  11. #10
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    i did it once when i was bored, i used some links and made links to change the colour scheme and the background colour of the desktop using javascript.
    JR


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com