Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    I made a dumbed down html file to illustrate the problem I am having with IE vs other browsers. The file contains 1 table with 1 header tag. In non-IE browsers there is a space created between the header, and the top of the table cell. In IE there is no such space. Why is this? This happens with the <p> aswell.

    I have tried using "position: relative", but the tag is still offset, even though it does move down by the specified pixels. 've been stuck on this on for a week, and haven't had much luck...

    Load link using IE, then load with some other browser to compare.

    Link:

    http://206.116.224.94:447/current/test.html

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    Anyone know how to fix this???

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    106
    Member #
    6059
    strange. not sure how to fix, just avoid...

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    I need to use headers (better for search engines), and would like to find a solution for this. It only seems to happen in IE 6

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    I gave up on divs... They seem to be nothing but trouble for my layout. IE has way too many problems with them. I think I'll stick to tables from now on.

  7. #6
    Senior Member ceetee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    2035
    Typically this is because browsers use different values for margins.
    Try this or whatever the element is, if you want IE behaviour
    h1{margin-top:0}

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    I got the margin, and padding worked out. It just takes too long to fix the other problems when incorporating divs in a primarily table layout.

    I word of adive to anyone designing webpages. Either go all tables, or go all divs. Try not to mix the two, or you'll have a hell of a time.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    106
    Member #
    6059
    tables are useful for holding data, divs are good for doing a layout. once good with divs you wont ever use tables again but for what they are meant for, information. listings what have it.

    Creating Boxes Layout
    http://www.thenoodleincident.com/tut...son/boxes.html

    Layoutomatic. this creates the code for you.
    http://www.inknoise.com/experimental/layoutomatic.php

    good luck

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    106
    Member #
    6059
    show me the layout you like and i will make it for you.

    mac ie has issues pc ie i have had no problems with so far. nothing big.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    5925
    Thanks for the help. I'm gonna keep my site the way it is for now, and probably try to do a pure div for me next site. Here's a link to my current site layout.

    http://206.116.224.94:447/current/winxp-menu.asp

    I'm redoing the format for my tutorials, and content. The only one I have finished is the one in the link. As for the layout I'm gonna keep it like that.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com