Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member drews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    63
    Member #
    341
    I've got a bunch of emails for use with my site. And like most sites that use cPanel, I can log into these using the email program called Horde.

    What I want to do is create an HTML page where you can click a button and it will take you to the Horde inbox.

    I've gotten that far, where it submits and will take you to the page, but it requires you to login using HTTP Authentication (you know the little pop-up box asking for a username and password). So is there a way to pass this information to the browser so I don't have to type in this password. I'll show you what I have so far.

    HTML Code:
     <form action="http://www.my-site.com:2095/horde/imp/redirect.php" method="post">
    <input type="hidden" name="actionID" value="105" />
    <input type="hidden" name="url" value="http://my-site.com:2095/horde/login.php" />
    <input type="hidden" name="mailbox" value="INBOX" />
    <input type="hidden" name="server" value="localhost" />
    <input type="hidden" name="port" value="143" />
    <input type="hidden" name="namespace" value="" />
    <input type="hidden" name="maildomain" value="my-site.com" />
    <input type="hidden" name="protocol" value="imap/notls" />
    <input type="hidden" name="realm" value="" />
    <input type="hidden" name="folders" value="" />
    <input type="hidden" name="new_lang" value="en_US" />
    <input type="hidden" name="imapuser" value="webmaster@my-site.com" />
    <input type="hidden" name="pass" value="xxxxxx" />
    <input type="submit" value="webmaster@my-site.com" />
    </form>
    This gets me to the page and logs me into Horde, but it still asks for the cPanel User name and Password using HTTP Authentication.

    I hope you understand what I'm talking about.

    Thanks for your help!
    -drews
    -White Fiber Hosting - Coming Soon!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    I know this works for FTP...

    ftp://login: password@address

    Maybe something similar will work for this?

    Code:
    <form action="http://yourname:pass@my-site.com:2095/horde/imp/redirect.php" method="post">
    Edit: accidental smilie

  4. #3
    Member drews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    63
    Member #
    341
    Nope, that didn't work. Anyone else have any ideas? Maybe using some meta tag, that I don't know about?

    Thanks anyway, Fallout.
    -drews
    -White Fiber Hosting - Coming Soon!

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    I don't think it's a good idea to have all of your user ID, password,
    and account information in your HTML source ... for everyone to see.

    The only thing close would be to have everything visible except the
    user ID and password. These would be cookies stored only on your PC.

    If you use PHP, you could retrieve these easily. See a Google search
    on PHP COOKIES for example programming.

    Of course, you would have to have a way to write the cookies onto your
    own PC and delete them if you are using someone else's PC.

    It would be similar to this forum, where it remembers your sign-on
    using cookies.

    --Max


  6. #5
    Member drews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    63
    Member #
    341
    Well this file would be kept on my computer. I would only use it as a quick way to check email for mulitple inboxes. Yes, I know this could be easily done using PHP, but I can't rewrite Horde, or cPanel, or change the way the entire server is configured. I have to go through HTTP Authentication. Even if I did use cookies and gave it a Username and Password I still have the problem of sending it through the browser to the server so I don't get that little pop-up box.

    Thanks.
    -drews
    -White Fiber Hosting - Coming Soon!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com