Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Scrolling Text

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Hiya.

    if you notice - on amnesia.generation-rising.com the box is a bit small, so im wondering - how can I add a scroll bar to it? I think its something to do with layers?

    Thanks a lot
    Amnesia

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Yes - if it is a DIV (havn't checked your code) add 'overflow:auto' to the CSS for it.
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Hi - im sorry, but i dont understand?

  5. #4
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    What JLYL means is the following.

    In your code you have
    Code:
    <td width="100%" style="padding: 6px;">
    
    
                
                 <p align="center">At this website you will be able to find details about myself, including my CV, Achievements and other details you may find useful
                 or helpful.
                 <br><br>
    
                 Please feel free to contact me wether it is regarding the website or me as a person.
                 <br><br>
                 Thanks for visiting - Please check back soon as the website expands.<BR>
                 <font size="1"><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR>Please visit the <a href="copyright.php">Copyright Notice</a> if you are looking to use any information from this website.</font>
                 </p>
    
    
    
    &nbsp;</td>
    All you need to do is the following,
    Code:
    <td width="100%" style="padding: 6px; overflow:auto;">
    
    
                
                 <p align="center">At this website you will be able to find details about myself, including my CV, Achievements and other details you may find useful
                 or helpful.
                 <br><br>
    
                 Please feel free to contact me wether it is regarding the website or me as a person.
                 <br><br>
                 Thanks for visiting - Please check back soon as the website expands.<BR>
                 <font size="1"><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR>Please visit the <a href="copyright.php">Copyright Notice</a> if you are looking to use any information from this website.</font>
                 </p>
    
    
    
    &nbsp;</td>
    Spot the difference.
    Hope this helps,
    Daniel.

  6. #5
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Thanks for explaining, Dan, didn't have time to hang around at the time.
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Thats fine! Thanks so much for your help

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    I have done it
    and it doesnt work?

    I use "common.php" for all the tables, and then i use a get page function to get index.php or about.php etc.
    Anyway - have put it in the right part, but it doesnt work.

    Maybe i am doing something wrong?

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    hi - back to this topic, i do not know why it doesnt work.
    I open my common.php , i then find the correct <td> line and i add

    <td style="overflow:auto;"> and it doesnt add a scroll bar....?
    Thanks

    Amnesia

  10. #9
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    You have to have a set width and height before it overflows, plus the content has to be bigger than the TD itself.


  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Ok Thanks.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com