Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi there, new to the forums... I'm not very good with js (yet), and my question sorta has to do with javascript as well as php and html, hope I'm posting this in the right place

I am basically trying to put a load message on while the images in a gallery load. Getting this to happen seems to be pretty easy, found some decent scripts... I liked this one in particular, as it's so simple an straightforward. The problem is all the scripts seem to want to use the <body> tag, and I don't want the whole page not to load, just a part of it - specifically a few html tables a small php script.

I have it setup so that the gallery code is contained in a .php file that is 'include'd, so it's essentially its own page. However, inserting a body tag into this doesn't seem like a solution.

Not sure what the best approach to this would be, any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated, thanx

Member #
    If I understand you, you can just have the function call inside <script></script> tags and not in the <body> tag.

Something like
    HTML Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">

// functions here

waitPreloadPage();

</script>

</head>

<body>

Member #
    Hi there, thank you for the quick reply, sorry I couldn't get back to you right away...

That MIGHT be part of a fix, but I'm not sure if that lets me do what I want it to... Here, I'll try and provide an example.
    ------------------------------
    <html>
    <head>
    <script>script is defined here</script>
    <head/>
    <body>
    now a table with two columns...
    <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
    <tr>
    <td><?php include (gallery.php);> ?></td> here's where the gallery loads in