Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    1498
    Hi All

    I am trying to load a new window off a hyperlink that has no toolbars or anything else - just a plain window. Also, is it possible to load this new window from a combo-box option so that once you have clicked it it loads up the option in a new toolbar-less window.

    As an example, the following page is the one I am trying to do this with: http://www.wpps.wcape.school.za/testsite/wpps/index.htm
    Once there, click on the sport heading, and then select the fixtures option on the left. The only option that I have set to work so far is the "Athletics" option - so this is the one that I would want to use to open its content in the new window described above.

    Many thanks in advance

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    I'm sorry, I tries the combo box but to no avail, however your first request is below.

    <script language="JavaScript">

    function win() {

    window.open("http://google.co.uk","","height=200,width=200,left=80,top =80,toolbar=no,location=no");

    }
    </script>

    and to call on that, pick up the phone

    <a href="javascript:win()">open</a>

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    1498
    Is it possible to remove the toolbars etc.. from the _blank tag when it is used, so it is just a plain window?

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Nope, you have to use Javascript.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    Here's the other code you were looking for:
    Code:
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function goURL(loc) {
     if (loc != "null") {
      window.open(loc,"","height=450,width=600,status=0,resizable=0,scrollbars=0,location=0,menubar=0,toolbar=0");
      document.getElementById("menu").selectedIndex = 0;
     } else {
      document.getElementById("menu").selectedIndex = 0;
      return true;
     }
    }
    </script>
    <body>
    
    <select id="menu" onChange="goURL(this.value)">
     <option selected value="null">Choose a Link</otpion>
     <option value="null"> </option>
     <option value="http://www.usps.gov/">US Postal Service</option>
     <option value="http://www.ebay.com/">eBay</option>
     <option value="http://www.webdesignforums.net/">&nbsp;&nbsp;W D F&nbsp;&nbsp;</option>
    </select>
    Anything you want to show up on the pop up window, just change from a "0" to a "1" in this line:
    [minicode]window.open(loc,"","height=450,width=600,status=0, resizable=0,scrollbars=0,location=0,menubar=0,tool bar=0");[/minicode]
    - Brian

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    84
    Member #
    12765
    The above should work with no problems at all.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com