Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I am using an external CSS and div tags to center/space the content on my site. I use seperate divs for the top, left, middle, and right sections of my webpage to avoid using frames.
    The content of the middle div is all that scrolls on the page. That's the way I want it.
    I'm not that experienced with javascript and I want to know if I can use it to change the content (text AND graphics )of the middle div tag just by clicking a button in the navigation menu. The navigation buttons/links are in their own div.
    I don't really want to load a whole new page if just the content of the middle div is changing. Can this be done?:devious:

JR
    Member #
    I made a quick file for you, although i do not think this is a good idea because it is bad for search engines for a start.

You may want to look into using a server side language (SHTML, PHP, ASP) to include parts of your page that stay the same. Do a search on includes and i am sure you will find loads of info.
    JR

Member #
    You are a very helpful guy, jr.
    I cannot self terminate, you must lower me into the fire.

JR
    Member #
    thanks
    JR

Member #
    Thanks for the help JR,
    Your code really helped me out. But you say this code is bad for search engines.
    So will I be better off having my links load a fresh new page for better search engine manageability?
    I'm just making a personal website using the free webspace from my ISP provider. Could I still use server side includes or do I need to pay a seperate site for web-hosting?