Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member Hitch - CP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    120
    Member #
    19164
    Hey Guys,

    Problem in question can be seen on the right side of the pages linked - the right sidebar. Filter Category and Filter Date drop-downs.

    I have a hidden container (.show-container) which shows when a user clicks on a link (.toggle-trigger).

    On this page (http://collossalpixe...r-random-post/#) the toggle works correctly; the hidden container shows/hides itself when .toggle-trigger is clicked.

    However, on this page (Archives - Collossal Pixel The Portfolio of Ali Hitch) we have the exact same code (as it is the exact same element pulled in via PHP) but the hidden container does not show/hide itself when .toggle-trigger is clicked.

    The only reason for this is perhaps because there isn't enough room for the container to move into - I have tried to fix the problem working on this theory but have not got anywhere.

    Does anybody else have any ideas?

    Many Thanks,
    Ali
    Ali Hitch

    Portfolio & Tutorial Site
    www.alihitch.com

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member krazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    1078
    Hmm, I see what you mean.

    On both pages, I can execute the slide code manually using: javascript:alert($('.show-container').slideToggle("fast"));

    It leads me to believe perhaps the ready() event is not firing for one reason or another. That may be a path you might want to explore to see if it is causing your problem.

    By the way, your first link did not work, but I was able to make out what you were going for through navigation on your site: Another Random post - Collossal Pixel The Portfolio of Ali Hitch
    Ad space - for sale, $19.95/month

  4. #3
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    There's an error on your homepage killing your JS.

    $("#scrollbox").offset() is null. Fix that and your toggle should work.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Hitch - CP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    120
    Member #
    19164
    Hey Smoseley,

    That is from another JS file called aside-scroll.js that is used on the scrolling element on the left of any post page, such as: Another tournament today! - Collossal Pixel The Portfolio of Ali Hitch

    Even though this is nothing to do with the other javascript file with the toggle trigger, could this error be affecting it somehow?

    I am not terribly javascript literate which is why I am asking

    Any insight appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Ali
    Ali Hitch

    Portfolio & Tutorial Site
    www.alihitch.com

  6. #5
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    If this script executes before the other and fails, it will stop all JS rendering on the page.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com