Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: onLoad Form

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    26787
    Hi,

    i have a problem.. i have a site and that site has pages that a user must first fill in a form before entering, the problem is i do not know where to start.
    i would like this to happen:

    a user would click a link:
    then the browser will prompt a form locking all action only the form can be clicked. if the client will not sign the form the browser will redirect to another page, but if the user will sign on the form, it will redirect to its designated page.

    please help me, give me a link or a hint...

  2.  

  3. #2
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    You won't find a hint for that, because that's not really a Javascript thing if it's done right. Server-side programming is the way you'd want to handle that. If you want to add Javascript to avoid calls to the server, you could as well...but it wouldn't be the primary way to do that.

    Now, exactly how to do that depends on which server-side language you want to use (PHP, ASP, ASP.net, etc.) So figure that out first.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    26787
    Thank YOu

    I get your POint, thanks for the advice, i was just trying to ask if there are alternative ways other than server-side scripting :-)

  5. #4
    Senior Member paintingtheweb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    15503
    You could do it with javascript, but it's insecure. All they would have to do would be to disable javascript and voila, they have access.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Harmonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    291
    Member #
    26468
    Liked
    23 times
    You need to use serverside for something like this. You could use javascript but then anyone with coding knowledge could just look at your code and find out what the 'correct' url is if they had completed the form. Users can also disable JavaScript altogether. I'd recommend you use PHP for this.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com