Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    28028
    http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/bookflip.htm

    The above URL is where the code is. I can also paste here if anyone is willing to help me find out what I am doing wrong. I am trying to place this code,
    <body onload="ImageBook()">

    in the right place in my code view of DW. I either get a syntax error or I get
    the yellow highlite telling me that the code has invalid markup. I know it is some-
    thing simple no doubt that I am overlooking.

    Will someone help me with this as I have been studying and searching for 2 days now,
    longer if you count the times I gave up and moved onto something else. I am to the point
    where if I don't get my photos on my site, then I am dead in the water. I really want
    "this" flip book style but if anyone sees a problem with Dynamic Drive codes I am open
    to hearing about it.

    Thanks so much, Denise(http://tocatchamiracle.com)
    PS I like the flipbook mainly because it is so small.
    Again, it is at http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/bookflip.htm

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    I suspect the problem lies with Dreamweaver - not the best editor by a long shot.
    What exactly is the error message? Be as specific as you can.
    Do you have a place where you can upload the page so we can see it online? Like a "development" folder on your server?
    nwcountry likes this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    28028
    Do you mean upload the code Alpha? You can see my website as it's on the server/online now. If you want the code source in Dreamweaver I can copy that or screenshot? I know I am dumb about this. How about I go and ask if I can have a development server at Hostgator? I'll be back Ok? Thanks for stopping into help me Denise

  5. #4
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Quote Originally Posted by nwcountry, post: 207508
    Do you mean upload the code Alpha? You can see my website as it's on the server/online now. If you want the code source in Dreamweaver I can copy that or screenshot? I know I am dumb about this. How about I go and ask if I can have a development server at Hostgator? I'll be back Ok? Thanks for stopping into help me Denise
    You don't need a development server - all you have to do is create a folder on your server called "development" and put the files in there.

    Or you can copy/paste the code here and I can stick it up on my server for testing.
    nwcountry likes this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    28028
    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaMare, post: 207512
    You don't need a development server - all you have to do is create a folder on your server called "development" and put the files in there.

    Or you can copy/paste the code here and I can stick it up on my server for testing.
    I"m getting it set up now

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    28028
    Dreamweaver is the only one I have. It is hard to say the least but I hated their sitebuilder. My site is almost finished and I probably wont build another in DW

  8. #7
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Give [COLOR=rgb(32, 117, 183)]Notepad++[/COLOR](free download) a try. I really like the way it shows the code and I LOVE the way I can change things throughout a folder, instead of having to edit individual pages if (when) I make a typo.
    nwcountry likes this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    28028
    Ok Alpha, I made an ftp account for "friends" is what I called it. Now what, LOL! I know I do it all at hostgator, save a file that shows the code etc?? Right?

  10. #9
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    OK - but you still need to get the files online.
    Let's go step by step.
    Tell me how you upload your files - do you use the Control Panel or do you use some FTP program?
    nwcountry likes this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    28028
    I put the ftp info into DW and I "put" the files through that setup.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

flipbook javascript -jquery -turn

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com