Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member xavier_k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    38988

    How to create a switcher bar for changing screen size on the top of the website?

    How can I create a switcher bar like this site, Responsive WordPress Themes Demo | Themeum ?

    The switcher bar I refer to is the top bar that use to switching between desktop, tablet and mobile size.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member DerrickE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    58
    Member #
    15580
    Liked
    10 times
    Are you wanting it for wordpress or just in general? Something like that is pretty easy, it's just using javascript to resize the content div.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    I have to wonder why you would even do that. They're only doing it to illustrate the theme's responsiveness. Just build a responsive page.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  5. #4
    Junior Member xavier_k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    38988
    Yes, it is for demonstration purpose. I would use it to demonstrate the responsive design of the website to the clients or prospect! Currently, I will use it for WordPress. I saw the switcher bar a lot on themeforest. At first, I think that it is custom made from envato but looks like I am wrong. It is because the url I provide above is a free WordPress theme.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Vapr_Arts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,930
    Member #
    37412
    Liked
    544 times
    Seems like you could just use javascript to resize a wrapper div and include some media queries to adjust the css.

    I thought about doing this but the easier way for me was just to tell them to resize the screen themselves to show responsiveness.

    I felt like if it was on a screen and resized in this way it would be ok. But for a client that has no idea how it works i thought there may be more "magic" in allowing them to resize the screen themselves. Kinda like i did when i first got into responsive sites


    Regretfully sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk during lunch and other breaks


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com