Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Member #
    Permission to pick your brains, please? :cheeky:

I'm a Web Designer who focuses, at present, on CSS based design, and is a sole user of XHTML and CSS (with the odd snippet of Javascript if I'm feeling dangerous!). However, my aim is to gradually expand the features I am able to offer clients; from the ground up. My future objectives are to learn how to implement search functions, contact forms, logins, etc.

However, the idea of CMS is holding my attention at the moment, and I am excited about how much they could help me provide a more complete and practical solution for my clients. I have tried to do a little research into the deluge of free and open-source CMS scattered across the Internet, and one name kept popping up, Joomla!

Joomla! is free. Sounds good... but is this right for me?

I want to be able to allow clients to simply login to a web based application and create news bulletins, add new articles etc. and in the future be able to allow clients to update their online product catalogue with new items etc. I want it to be simple, intuitive and have exactly what they need and nothing more, all at their fingertips.

A few questions, if I may?

1. Firstly, is it worth me looking into this further as a solution to my wants/needs?
    2. Do you use this regularly in your web design/development projects?
    3. If so... What is your overall opinion of this as a CMS for paying clients?
    4. If Joomla! is worth the time and effort, I'll be diving right in... but just so I know, from your experience, was there a steep/gentle/moderate learning curve?
    5. What alternative free CMS are available, and which can you recommend from personal experience?