Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    483
    Member #
    17875
    Liked
    1 times
    Can i make an html page and then mark it up somehow so that joomla recognizes the different sections? I want to get into using a cms, but i like having full control of layout.
    Am i able to just mark something up with XHTML and CSS and then somehow connect it to joomla?

    Any links on the subject?
    Thanks

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi you can make a joomla template in any html you want... I think... You may wish to check that the elements it generates are compliant with the language setting and if they need some post processing... This kind of thing normally takes the form of php find and replace steered by regular expressions...

    Standard templates are: XHTML 1.0 Transitional

    The editor Joomla uses by default is TinyMCE http://tinymce.moxiecode.com/ which is a JAVA WYSIWYG editor which generates html for your user editable sections...


    Basically you make a page exactly as you normally would and attach code segments in the areas you wish joomla to populate...

    A very simple example would be a web site which has pages of text all surrounded by the same border and navigation...

    The border and navigation is your template and joomla populates code in the center of the page with a user's edited atricle depending on what page you are on...

    Here is an example: http://www.dorsetshockwave.co.uk/

    NB the editor can handle pictures and tables too...

    Menu is made from list items which you can control easily from a style sheet... Just put a div with an ID in your template round your list and sefine it in your CSS...

    -Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    483
    Member #
    17875
    Liked
    1 times
    Thanks for your reply. Thats pretty helpful. But say for example i do this:

    <body>
    <ul id="news">
    <li>News 1</li>
    <li>News 2</li>
    </ul>

    How can I tell joomla news 1 and news 2 come from the DB?

    Is there any documentation on joomla templating?

  5. #4
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Do it like this:

    Set the menu module postion top (in the database) - in this example...

    <div id=menu >
    <jdoc:include type="modules" name="top" style="xhtml" />
    </div>


    Then Joomla! outputs the list for you...

    I suggest you install Jooomla! and ask it to populate with example site... Then look at the templates and modify the code as you need it / learn...

    Have fun

    -H
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    483
    Member #
    17875
    Liked
    1 times
    ah awesome

    thats great thanks


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com