Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    27080
    Hi I have taken over the maintenance of a site that was designed in Joomla the company that designed it has now gone bust and no one is about to help, so that is why I am here.

    The guy designed a template him self i think but I want to editing it. here is the code for the template in Joomla it says it is [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][SIZE=11px]Unwritable. [/SIZE][/COLOR]

    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][SIZE=11px]
    Code:
    <?php defined( "_VALID_MOS" ) or die( "Direct Access to this location is not allowed." );?>
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <?php if ( $my->id ) { initEditor(); } ?>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;><?php echo _ISO; ?>" />
    <?php mosShowHead(); ?>
    
    <?php echo "<link rel=\"stylesheet\" href=\"$GLOBALS[mosConfig_live_site]/templates/$GLOBALS[cur_template]/css/layout.css\" type=\"text/css\"/>" ; ?>
    <?php echo "<link rel=\"alternate stylesheet\" href=\"$GLOBALS[mosConfig_live_site]/templates/$GLOBALS[cur_template]/css/layoutmed.css\" type=\"text/css\"/>" ; ?>
    <?php echo "<link rel=\"alternate stylesheet\" href=\"$GLOBALS[mosConfig_live_site]/templates/$GLOBALS[cur_template]/css/layoutlarge.css\" type=\"text/css\"/>" ; ?>
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="templates/newlegion/css/styleswitcher.js"></script>
    </head>
    
    <style>
     
    table.moduletable th {
    
    font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    color:#FFFF99;
    height:18px;
    background:#000066;
    
    }
    table.moduletable td {
    
    background:#FFFFFF;
    font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    color:#333333;
    width: 250px;
    padding-top:5px;
    padding-left:3px;
    }
    table.moduletable_menu th {
    
    background:#CCCCCC;
    
    height: 18px;
    
    color: #FFFFFF;
    
    }
    table.moduletable_menu td {
    
    background:#99FF00;
    
    height: 18px;
    
    color: #FFFFFF;
    
    font-family:Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif;
    
    }
    table.moduletable_menu a {
    
    color: #FFFFFF;
    
    }
    table.moduletable_menu a:hover {
    
    color:#990066;
    background:#3333FF;
    
    }
    table.moduletable_menu a:active{
    
    color:#330000;
    
    }
    table.moduletable_menu.menu td
    {
        background:#FF0000;
    }
    
    ul.menu
    {
    list-style:none;
    }
     
    table.moduletable .search
    {
        background:#FF0000;
    }
    
    table.moduletable .inputbox
    {
        background:#006699;
        border:#CC3300;
    }
    
    #mod_search_searchword
    {
        background:#006699;
    }
      
    </style>
    </head>
    
    <body class="eventscalendar" id="homepage">
    
    <div id="wrapper">
    
    <img src="/templates/newlegion/images/legionbanner.jpg" alt="Welcome To Bitterne Royal British Legion Website" />
    <div id="textsize"><?php include("templates/newlegion/_includes/cssselector.php"); ?></div>
    <div id="topnavigation"><?php include("_includes/topnavigation.php"); ?></div>
    <div id="sidenavigation">
      <?php include("_includes/sidenavigation.php"); ?>
    </div>
    <div id="main-body">
    <div class="subsectionheader">Welcome to the Bitterne Royal British Legion Website</div>
    <div class="content">
    <?php mosLoadModules('top');?>
    <?php mosMainBody(); ?>
    </div>
    
     </div><!--End of Content-->
    <div id="rightsidebar">
    <div style="padding-top:3px;"><?php mosLoadModules ( 'right' ); ?></div>
    <div style="position:absolute; top:auto; margin-top:10px; width:220px;"><?php include("templates/newlegion/_includes/rightsidebar.php"); ?></div>
    </div>
    
    </div> <!--end of wrap-->
    </body>
    </html>
    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]Thanks


    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]Jason[/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]
    [/SIZE][/COLOR]

  2.  

  3. #2
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    I'm not a Joomla person, so this is a sheer guess on my part, and I will state that clearly upfront.

    But usually when things aren't writeable, it's not the template or the file itself that is to blame. It's the permissions set either on the file or the containing folder that are the issue. Have you checked those using an FTP client or ideally root/remote access?
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  4. #3
    Senior Member LeenkzMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Toe-Peek-ah, Kansas
    Posts
    608
    Member #
    26365
    Liked
    80 times
    Yeah, you might want to change that to 777 then change it back to what ever it was after you are done working on it.
    Peace, Mike
    WebHost1-For all your Hosting needs.
    Leenkz.Com-The web starts here! (Blatant use of tables)
    I realllllly need to feel useful, please "like" my signatures!!!! (Button is on the bottom right!)

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    27080
    Hi Thank you for your reply. I changes the permission to 777 but it still said [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][SIZE=11px]The Parameter-File /templates/newlegion/params.ini is Unwritable!. and it stopped the [/SIZE][/COLOR] site from working. so I have now changed it back.

  6. #5
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Then it sounds like you have another file in your template called params.ini (in the legion folder) that you'll have to do the same thing for.

    Do NOT leave your site like this, but just to eliminate any possibility of a permissions issue on any file or folder, on a temporary basis set the permissions to 777 for everything on your site. Then try editing the template.

    If that works, then you're sure it's a permissions issue and you can put the site back to whatever the permissions were before, followed by adjusting the permissions on the files you need to. Kind of odd that an ini file would require write permissions, though.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    27376
    And if that's not working, check with your hosting provider and ask for help.

  8. #7
    Member EvaBrown89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    79
    Member #
    27298
    Liked
    6 times
    I think you need to ask help you somebody personal, because it's hard to answer and to understand your problem. We need to see your website and also view your source files on you hosting. If you want I can help you.


  9. #8
    WDF Staff m3n0tu18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    1,467
    Member #
    28473
    Liked
    265 times
    Hi usually if you get the params.ini error message its because there is no file within the joomla template. Dont really worry about that because params.ini is mainly used to control colors and logos etc. Its not really needed unless your designing the websites for renting etc.

    Also usually when i find an unwriteable message and try editing the design, it still works regarless... I think it might be a bug in Joomla 1.5.

    Hope this helps!
    If you like my comments to your thread please click the LIKE button

    Check out my portfolio: Here!
    View my company Facebook Page
    View my company Website

    <<Plrease ignoer my typo's I have isdexlyia>>


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com