Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi - I am an artist and designer and full time Mum. I am about to try to design a website to display photos and hopefully attract some sales! I now have a deadline as there is an article about me going into Country Homes and Interiors very soon, hence it may help me if there is a website people can look at. As a novice I have looked at 1&1 which drove me mad and the help line was in America and I found them hard to understand, would you believe! I am thinking now of writing it in iWeb on my Mac and then hosting it on NamesCo - they have a UK helpline. However, from reading up on this a bit I understand that It might not be great at being found because of the meta-tags? All you experts will probably be laughing at me by now!!

Anyway any guidance will be appreciated.

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Hi,

Actually you should probably post general questions in the appropriate forums.

I personally think you should consider Wordpress for your site, they have hundreds of different plugins for different needs and usages, and from my limited experience they are pretty easy to setup and customize. ( I did 4 in one evening for a client ), had only done one test install prior to that.

Wordpress originally started out as a blogging platform but has evolved into a lot more.

Any decent hosting provider will have a self installer as a free package on their servers. Wordpress help documentation and videos are pretty self-explanatory.

Not sure if you'll get much response on here about the site builder setup ? But you never know.

Member #
    Sorry have just found I can reply to this - it wouldn't let me earlier! What is a plugin? Also what is a self-installer?

Member #
    Liked
    770 times