Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello!

I started learning ASP 3.0 which went smooth. As time progressed I thought that ASP .Net would be the language to use. Now I'm studying this language... (or not really language but whateva')
    (Using C# .Net)

I usually used databases to store guestbook material before, but it seems like it is deprecated to use that, since most tutorials are about XML. Is it just the latest flavor or is it really something to it? Databases worked fine for me, but I'm willing to change. What should I use? What type, if databases, of database should I use? If you want me to use databases, then where can I find a good tutorial about it? If I'm supposed to use XML, how do you delete an entry in C# (preferrably code-behind)?

Thanks
    //Henke

Member #
    Liked
    141 times
    Databases are great things to have to hold data. XML is generally used to format data and to show data in a medium multiple platforms can understand. Ultimately there's no real way to store data in XML from what I'm understanding, as it has to be statically written.

Transio's the XML geek around here though, he may have a different opinion on this all.

By deleting an entry, what exactly do you mean? Also out of curiousity, why are you learning C#.net instead of ASP.net given your stated background?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

Admin at houseofhelp.com

Member #
    XML and database distinction

There is a distinction between XML and databases that you need to understand.