Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    On a recent trip into my phpMyAdmin, I noticed in the list, that I had 3 databases.

    This surprised for numerous reasons, them being
    1: My host only gives me two databases
    2: I did not create this new databases
    3: My programming teacher has spent endless time telling us to come up with meaningful names for variables/files etc, not a database called "test"

    Should I report this to my host telling them that I think an unauthorised perosn(s) had/has access to my account?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Depends. What's in it? And what is the exact name of the database? There is a chance your host could have done this by accident, or given you priveleges to a database without realizing.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I think MySQL creates databases named "mysql" and possibly "test". phpMyAdmin can also use its own.

    However, you should look into it more by asking your host.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    In this case, the database was called "test" and the table was called "films" or something. In the table there was columns like filmid, filmcat, filmage etc. Im guessing it was for storing info on films!

    I will have to ask my host.

  6. #5
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Quote Originally Posted by filburt1
    I think MySQL creates databases named "mysql" and possibly "test".
    These are the two default DB's of any fresh MySQL install. However, the 'test' DB should not contain any tables at all!

    Might be a script from your hosts side, that generated this. (maybe some remnant covering earlier clients needs?)
    S. Rosland

  7. #6
    Senior Member mossoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Englandshire, United Kingdomsville y'all!
    Posts
    1,111
    Member #
    1206
    Liked
    1 times
    I've had this once or twice with various hosts. A test database suddenly appears to which all users of the server have access. Likely in this case test was created by the host possibly as a side effect of running something else on the server and another user has started to populate it.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com