Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi,

I have been designing and building websites for a few years now and in the last 2 years, I have used PHP and MySQL as my main tool.

Generally when I create a site, I start off by creating an HTML draft of the site and work on this until the design is 95% approved. When it comes time to add extra pages to the site, I split the original file into three PHP files...header, content and footer files. Its only the "content.php" file that gets changed from page to page, with the header and footer being included as the site is loaded on the clients machine (ie: "include('header.php'); etc."). Sometimes i have the content stored in a MySQL database.

I have a question about this system. I am still learning about the best methods of getting increased exposure to search engines, in particular Google. As far as I know, search engines usually read either the Meta data and/or the first few hundred words of text whether its comments or content, whereas Google is more based on how many links you have to your site (as well as content text) and what class of links they are such as from government sites or big companies.

Having the header, content and footer system on a site, does that affect how a search engines "see's" the content of the site? For example, when a search engine does a "crawl" can it include the 'header.php' file when it looks up the sites address?

If anybody can help me out with the above question, it would be very much appreciated.

Cheers, Nickuss.

Member #
    Liked
    2 times