Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Blog archives

Member #
    I'm trying to code up some archives for my blog so I can release it soon, but I'm having some problems with it.

Here's what I want to do, but I'm lost on actually doing it: make a list of each distinct month of each distinct year (ie: December 2004, January 2005, etc.) and make a link to a page that will list all the posts of that month.

So far I've gotten each distinct year into an array, though I'm not sure if I should use an array for this (or if I really have any other choice). But where do I go from there? I'm not experienced with grabbing information from a database depending on an array item.

A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    If you want to do it the simple way, you'd pass variables on through the URL.

You'd need columns in your database called 'year' and 'month' for each item.

You'd have the links like so,

Code:
    <a href="somepage.php?year=2004&month=12">December 2004</a>
     <a href="somepage.php?year=2005&month=1">January 2005</a>
    Then, on somepage.php you'd have a code getting the information into variables:

PHP Code:
    $year $_GET['year'];

$month $_GET['month'];

// For some reason though, you can use $year as though it were a regular variable,
    // so I don't know why i get it through the $_GET variables, but it seems safer. 
    Then you'd tell it to get all of the entries with the corresponding year and month:

PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT your, variables FROM blog WHERE year = '$year' AND month = '$month'"); 
    Then you'd get how many entries that got, (i.e. how many posts are in $month in $year), and make a loop around and around and print them all out.

PHP Code: