Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello,
    I'd like to know what is the best way to create a website to view books online? I'd like users to be able to select a genre from a drop down list, then select a title, and jump to a specific chapter if they are interested, and easily go to "next" and "previous" pages without giving me a headache when I code, and an option to select an author.. etc.

I'm willing to learn how to create this, so I'm not looking for someone to hire. (Sorry, I hate saying that, but it's only because every forum I go to asks me to hire someone to do it)

I decided on using PHP because, although I am a beginner, I like where it's going. My only experience with PHP is using includes, and I'm happy with the results.

So, now I need to create a website for books, and like I said before, I'm willing to learn:
    Anyone have tips? Advice? Scripts I can look at? Tutorials or books to recommend?

Thanks for taking the time to read this post,
    Regards,

Member #
    If I understand you correctly, you want to put the entire books online for everyone to read?
    (not just a few sample pages from each book?)

If so, it will be a monumental task!
    You would also be facing major copyright issues, unless you're talking about publishing scientific papers or something.
    If you mean regular books/novels, you would probably never be granted permission to do that.
    Anyway (assuming I haven't misunderstood your intentions), putting the entire content of a novel online, would not be a good idea (even if you had permission from the author). Reading massive amounts of information off screen, would be extreemely uncomfortable if not close to impossible.