Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi,

    In phpMyAdmin on my local machine I have text (in medium text type field):
    Business Communication Skills
    Management Procedures
    Negotiation Skills

    After uploading:
    • Business Communication Skills
    • Management Procedures
    • Negotiation Skills

    I needed to remove a line
    'ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1'
    from the database because it wouldnt upload with it....

    ... any ideas how to fix this?

    Cheers -Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    try putting • for your bullet...
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

  4. #3
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    hi, I will do a hand edit if I really really need to but I want to resolve the incompatibility issues in my system first if possible....

    cheers -Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    11453
    Remove bullets or use html code instead of your text:
    <ul>
    <li> Business Communication Skills
    <li> Management Procedures
    <li> Negotiation Skills
    </ul>

  6. #5
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    hi thanks for the inputs

    the essence of the problem seems to that my local version of myPhpAdmin is not compatible with the remote version...

    If I dont fix it then I will have this problem every time I upload after developing a database driven site on my local server...

    Cheers
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  7. #6
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    You only need to remove the 'DEFAULT CHARSET..' line.

    Normally, you shouldn't have any problems exporting the table after that.
    With regard to special characters, you might have problems, as you have demonstrated.
    Try altering the charset to 'utf8_bin' or one of the other legal charsets, to see if it's the charset definition that's causing the problems.
    (It might be the charset call itself)

    As a sidenote, exporting the database content through a textfile and importing it through a 'load data infile' (after creating the table through a table definition export), is 100 times faster than exporting the whole table (table definitions and content), as the latter uses individual queries for each row of data, contrary to a pure data copy/paste operation.
    S. Rosland


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com