Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: php news portal

Member #
    Hi, I'm using dreamweaver to create my own website and really want to create one of those iframes containing updateable text (see www.newstoday.com), I'm just a beginner and need to know where to start...please help!

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hey,
    Well you actually don't need any PHP for that - all you need is some CSS OR an iframe.
    With an iframe you can have your news in a seperate html file and just load it into a scrolling iframe. You would do something like
    HTML Code:
    <iframe src="news.html"></iframe>
    I believe that's the syntax but I'm not totally sure, you'd have to look it up.
    OR, you can use CSS just to make it scroll. Have all your news text in a div, and make the div scroll with css. Like this:
    HTML Code:
    <style>
    .news{
      overflow: auto;
      width: 200px;
      height: 200px;
    }
    </style>
    <div class="news">news text here</div>
    (You can change the width and height to whatever you want it to be) ... Again, I'm not sure about the syntax, you'd have to look it up.
    Hope that helped!
    Heather
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

Member #
    Liked
    137 times
    If the news is from other sites you don't control, then you would need to parse an RSS feed. The RSS feed is the news feed from the other source, and parsing just means integrating it into your site.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

Admin at houseofhelp.com

Member #
    Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by raspberryh
    Hey,
    Well you actually don't need any PHP for that - all you need is some CSS OR an iframe.