Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    OK.... most annoying thing ever.

    I have a site at http://towerfra.vws0101.fast.net/misc/rfs/main.php so I made a quick www.rfsonline.cjb.net so I don't have to type that in... here comes the dilemma.

    If I log in using the long one - it works fine. If I log in using the cjb.net one it wont read my freakin cookies!(wont keep logged in). I don't understand at all... I mean, all I can tell that's different is that it'd be in a frame instead of being int he real page.. .but I dont' see how that works...

    Any help?
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Upon further inspection, this ONLY happens in IE when using an aliased name (cjb). What the hell? I hate IE so much sometimes... no, all the time.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    The two domains are different and since cookies can only apply to one domain there isn't much you can do.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Cookies aren't supported for framesets spanning domains. My suggestion is that you just expose your NOFRAMES code for all users and redirect to the longer url.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Thanks for tracking that down.. I just did a quick frame escape so all is well now.

    *goes on grumbling about IE*
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  7. #6
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    I know this is late, but cjb.net is a redirecting/cloaking service. If you have a problem with cookies due to the domain problem, turn off url cloaking within your cjb.net account, or add a simple script to your index page that will redirect itself.

    Example:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    if (top.location != this.location) top.location.replace(this.location)
    </script>
    - Brian

  8. #7
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    That's exactly what I did sklin...actually cjb.net now CHARGES for uncloaked urls... meh, I can get a real domain for how much they charge for uncloaked url.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  9. #8
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    Don't forget the bombardment of pop ups you get when accessing a cjb.net url.
    - Brian


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com