Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi All,

    I can't find any conclusive information to how long a variable passed on the URL using the GET method can be...

    I guess this would be a common consideration...

    Any info??

    Cheers -Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    I believe the theoretical limit is 255 characters altogether. I can't attest to whether that is an actual limit or not, as well before I get near 255 characters I switch to POST.

  4. #3
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Yes I expected it to be 256... Maybe it's a server configuration thing? Or a browser thing...?

    I haven't spotted a limit yet... I am passing this variable (see below) it's about 2000 chars, and its still going!

    I am making a file browser so POST method isn't much good or you would have to have 2 actions instead of just clicking on a folder to open it...

    This is an important piece of contract work for a business application, so I need a definitive limit to quote to the client...

    -H

    Code:
    open_folders=All%20Extension%20Groups,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Accounts,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Food%20and%20Bev,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/General%20Admin,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Leisure,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Operations,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Sales,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/General%20Admin/test%20dir,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Operations/test%20dir%20A,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Admin/Operations/test%20dir%20A/test%20dir%20B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Elm_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Hazel_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Holly_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Juniper_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Larch_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Maple_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Mulberry_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Oak_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Poplar_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Redwood_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Rowan_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Spruce_B,All%20Extension%20Groups/Paramount%20Walton%20Hall%20Spa/Guest/Sycamore_B
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    You can still achieve it with POST without a problem. Just make them buttons and style them to look like what you want them to look like. Give them a name, and only the button that is pressed should be passed on the POST line, as I remember it, which would let you figure out what to do.

    Still, this is one of those things where GET is perfectly all right. It doesn't modify anything server-side.

    But yeah, the limit on GET is hazy at best. It's supposed to be 255 but I've never seen anything succumb to that limitation.

  6. #5
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Ahhhh yes! very good plan, that would do it....

    Thank you very much!
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  7. #6
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    I.E. 7 doesnt work!

    PHP Code:
    <form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="submit-scr.php">
    <
    INPUT TYPE="image" NAME="sub" src="images/plus.jpg" value="xxxxxx">
    </
    form
    PHP Code:
    $sub=$_POST['sub']; 
    is giving me "Undefined index: sub"

    ... it's fine in Netscape and Firefox....

    Any ideas??

    Cheers -Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    That's... Strange. Use print_r( $_POST );

  9. #8
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    Nice one here are the results:


    Explorer: Array ( [sub_x] => 15 [sub_y] => 9 )

    Netscape: Array ( [sub_x] => 3 [sub_y] => 6 [sub] => xxxxxx )


    I have just updated to IE7 and I can see it has some problems... It seems to see it just as a submit button where the values are not relevant...


    Cheers

    Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Oh. Well... Of course :-) Your submit button doesn't seem to be *inside* your form tag :-)

  11. #10
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    hmmmm sorry I am suffering from form blindness...

    It looks like it is inside the form tags to me?... Any chance of elaborating...

    Sorry for being a dumb ***!

    Thank you ! :-)
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com