Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Newbie at large

Member #
    Hello all!

This is my first post. I have an idea for a new Web 2.0 service. I'm an exprienced C++ programmer. I also know basics of Photoshop. I am familiar with basic of GUI design. I am able to visualise my site. Unfortunately I have virtually no technical web building skills.

My website will require dynamic front-end. Template generated pages, with some common navigation elements on top. Strong and flexible database back-end. Almost every page will be generated from database records. I need high security and scalability. My site needs accounts for every user, user profiles and nontrivial forms. It must be designed to handle thousands of users accessing database simultaneously. I will also need higly costomizable forum system.

What kind of server side technology this will require? What kind of development tools I need? Which WYSIWYG editor? Which scripting language? How to implement dynamic front-end? Which databese to use? What kind of books should I pick up? I would be greatfull for some kind of guidance. Especially naming some technologies I should investigate.

What is the most common combination of tools typicaly used by professionals to implement such a site?

I am aware that this is nontrivial project, not suitable for a beginner. However I am willing to give it a try. I know it will takes months before I will master basics and get something reasembling my vision, but I have no other choice. Please help!

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    You'll be looking at PHP and MySQL.

You could start with a PHP/MySQL membership script to handle the
    member registrations, profiles, etc. With that, the member status
    and log-in stuff could be incorporated into your other scripts.