Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    131
    Member #
    13656
    Hey all! I am setting up an apache server with php 5 and mysql 5 on it, just so I can test stuff out. I've managed to successfully load the PHP module into apache and it runs the PHP code fine. My issue is loading the mySQL extension into PHP. I know that you have to do this within the PHP.ini file and I did. The issue is that PHP isn't loading ANY of the extenstions. How do I know this? Well in my efforts to fix this I accidentally change one of the extension names to an incorrect file name. When restarting the apache server everything loaded fine. So then I changed ALL the extension names and uncommented them and still nothing happened. What can I do to solve this??! Help please!!!

    - Dazed and Confused
    Christopher Carvache
    Web Developer / SEO
    Northeast Web Design
    +1.860.906.7802

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Apache will load fine, you'll have to run phpinfo(); in a page to see what you're loading and not loading.

    It may be you're editing a php.ini file that PHP isn't reading. Run phpinfo() in a page; that'll tell you where the php.ini file is, if I remember correctly. Then edit the one in that location.

  4. #3
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowfiend
    ...that'll tell you where the php.ini file is, if I remember correctly. Then edit the one in that location.
    This is very important!
    I can't remember which version PHP changed this, but previously PHP had to have its INI file in system32 to be able to initialize it.
    Now you can store it at any location, you just have to instruct PHP where the file resides.

    With regard to extensions, PHP has to load them in a certain order, otherwise they wont work!
    I found out this some time ago when I couldn't get an extension loaded and finally contacted PHP directly.

    Some extensions require other extensions to be loaded first to be recognized. What is odd is that extension A works fine all by itself. Extension B needs to have extension C loaded first, otherwise it will produce an error.
    What really can make your head spin, is that extension D which has nothing to do with extension A but requires extension E to work, will cripple extension A unless extension E is set up in the right sequence in your INI file!

    My advice would be to first find out what path PHP is looking for the INI file in (as Shadowfiend has listed above), and then try to load one extension at the time to see what causes problems.
    The best (fastest) way to test this is to run PHP not as an ISAPI module but as FastCGI. Unfortunately that's not possible under Apache, as Apache requires the ISAPI module.

    In the Apache case, you have to stop and restart the service (assuming you're using windows) after each INI alteration.
    S. Rosland

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    131
    Member #
    13656
    So the problem is now eliminated... But by strange circumstances. I just needed a restart!!! HAHHA!! So my guess is... Do windows need a restart when changing the PATH variable? I didn't think it would but maybe that's a solution. I left everything the way I had it before and restarted my computer magically worked. I was under the impression though that you didn't need to restart for apache, php or mysql.... STRANGE!!!!!
    Christopher Carvache
    Web Developer / SEO
    Northeast Web Design
    +1.860.906.7802

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Resetting PATH will require a restart unless you run from a command prompt, I think, as command prompts refresh their PATH whenever you run them.

  7. #6
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Quote Originally Posted by darknailblue
    ...But by strange circumstances. I just needed a restart!!! HAHHA!!
    Quote Originally Posted by rosland
    The best (fastest) way to test this is to run PHP not as an ISAPI module but as FastCGI...
    ...In the Apache case, you have to stop and restart the service (assuming you're using windows) after each INI alteration..
    If you run PHP as a CGI module, any alteration would be immediately recognized. If its run as an ISAPI module, the server needs a restart to acknowledge the changes.

    ISAPI modules are inherently faster, but this has been remedied by FastCGI. Especially the module that runs under IIS.

    If you run ISAPI, then you will have to restart the server for the changes to take effect. You don't have to restart Windows itself (allthough that would achieve the same result), but that is awfully cumbersome.

    Any changes made to the INI file, will be reloaded on the fly when using FastCGI.
    ISAPI requires a reload, as all instructions are loaded to RAM intertwined with the module itself, to increase speed.
    ---
    Be aware though, as I mentioned in my previous post, that certain modules require a certain order of loading to work!
    S. Rosland


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

apache mysql extension is not loaded

,

apache not loading php extentions

,

extension not loading php

,

php camoflague extension not loading

,

php extensions not loading

,

php is not loading extensions

,

php not loading mysql extension not loaded

,

the extension mysql is not loaded

,

windows php not loading extensions

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com