Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member netxcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    14626
    Hi all

    I"m having problems completing a php order form using the order.php script.
    the form is as below

    http://www.hookonscaffolding.com.au/...existingcl.htm
    " currently able to view the script"

    the problem is that i can not get the page to generate a preview of the order prior to confirming it, IE..

    1: complete the order "next" button
    2: View the order "confirm" button or "back" button
    3: then on confirmation of the order to splash the thank you page

    Any assistance in this matter would be appreciated, or if you have a better option your assistance would be rewarded.

    Thanks in advance
    Phil

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,715
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    interesting ...

    I couldn't see the "submit order" button.
    It doesn't show up with FireFox, but does with IE.

    Not sure why, but maybe it's missing </p>?

    <p style="text-align: center">
    <INPUT class=btn onclick=finalCheck(this.form) tabIndex=7 type=submit value="Submit Order">&nbsp;&nbsp;
    <INPUT class=btn tabIndex=8 type=reset value="Clear Order">
    </p>
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></FORM></BODY></HTML>

    ==================

    The confirmation part ...

    You're using a PHP script called "order.php".
    and your form is a page called "form.htm".

    Before you go to "order.php", go to a separate PHP script
    called "confirm.php" ... this script could have an exact copy of "form.htm".
    You could summarize the information and if changes are needed, instead of
    going back to the original form, display the copy of the form with the text
    boxes populated by variables. "confirm.php" would be displaying it's own form
    (which looks the same as the original form). As they make changes and re-submit,
    the script is calling itself each time until they "confirm" ... at which point the
    user is then sent to "order.php" (the final script that emails the form).

    Because you're displaying "form.htm" inside of a frame, you could also make
    "form.htm" a PHP script called "form.php" and do the same thing. Keep on
    calling itself and altering variables until they decide it's done ... at which point you
    go to "order.php".


  4. #3
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    Where's the submit button? Firefox doesn't even locate the button. There IS a form element called submit, but I can't find it on the page itself. I suspect an overflowing div - err, iframe. Try fixing that first...
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

  5. #4
    Junior Member netxcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    14626
    Yer look I'm still having problems with getting the preview of my order page coming up.
    the main issue is the lack of knowledge regarding the syntax, are you able to help me regarding this, i played with the preview.php ect but was unable to get it to work.
    are you able to script it for me and i change the "var" as needed.
    this would be a great help if you could.

    Thanks
    Phil

  6. #5
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,715
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    First thing ...

    You need to fix the form height for FireFox ...

    I'm guessing these parts (in blue) should be a bigger number, like 1400 ...
    somewhere, the form is not fitting, so it gets cut-off with FireFox.

    <td align="center" width="100%" height="1209"><p align="center">&nbsp;<p align="center">
    <u><b>

    <font face="Verdana" size="5">Order Form</font></b></u><p align="center">
    <iframe name="I1" src="form.htm" width="819" height="1128" scrolling="no" align="middle" border="0" frameborder="0" marginwidth="1" marginheight="1">
    Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.
    </iframe>
    </td>


  7. #6
    Junior Member netxcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    14626
    I have now fixed the form height for firefox if you could now have a look at it that would be great

  8. #7
    Junior Member netxcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    14626
    the other thing that I'm trying to do is have the format of the preview page and the finished order page in the same format as the order page ie look the same ?

  9. #8
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,715
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    With FireFox, more is now showing, but still missing the very
    bottom (which has the submit button). There must be a height
    problem somewhere ... not sure where it might be.

    ============

    For your preview thing ...

    I would try this. I don't have a complete script for you, but this might be
    enough to give you an idea ... perhaps even improve on my suggestion ...

    1) change the name of your form (form.htm) to form.php

    2) change the name of the link also ...
    <iframe name="I1" src="form.php" width="819" height="1128" scrolling="no" align="middle" border="0" frameborder="0" marginwidth="1" marginheight="1">

    3) now, instead of calling "order.php" with the submit button, call itself ("form.php").
    At the top of "form.php" you'll have a PHP script that grabs all incoming variables,
    and those can be populated into your existing form. So once it's filled out, and
    the user clicks 'submit', the form reloads with all of their items in place. You could
    make the font of existing items a different color to show them what they
    entered and allow them to change things, each time, it calls itself until they are
    satisfied... then, the final 'submit' would call "order.php" to do the final process.

    4) the PHP script could also change the name of that 'submit' button. the first
    time, it might be called 'preview' ... after that, it changes to 'submit'.

    Having a frame might throw a wrench into the linking and targetting. You might
    consider using an <iframe> and having one page instead of two.

    ======
    EDIT:

    And here's a little snippet you can play with. Put at the top of your
    script "form.php" and see how it captures all of your form variables
    and their values.

    <?php
    reset ($HTTP_POST_VARS);
    while (list ($key, $val) = each ($HTTP_POST_VARS)) {
    echo "$key : $val <br>";
    }
    ?>

    =========


    .


  10. #9
    Junior Member netxcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    14626
    Thaks for that i will have another play and let you know how i go with it.
    i tested the page with firefox with a xcreen resolutionn of 1024.X768 and the whole for page came up ok what reolution are you using ?

    Thank
    Phil
    Canberra

  11. #10
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,715
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Attached is an image of your page from
    www.browsrcamp.com ... showing the bottom
    of your form is missing. That's the same way it looks on
    my FireFox browser.
    Attached Images Attached Images



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com