Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hey I'm relatively new to the world of web design and have just recently had a go at using PHP to do a client's website. I chose to use PHP because I read on another forum that if I used the <? include("header.html"); ?> and <? include("footer.html"); ?> fuctions, the flash navigation at the top of the pages would not have to reload. (It's in the header and the (C) 2007 JFive Technology is in the footer.)
    Why does it have to reload the navigation everytime a different page is visited? How can I change this?
    -thatsinsane

Member #
    That other forum must have gotten the words mixed up.... no, doing includes does not mean only a single load is required. May I explain.

Using a PHP include, what you're doing is telling your server that it should punch in a piece of HTML code into where that include just was. Then it is sent to your visitors, which receive the whole file intact. Thus for them, every load is a new file.

There is no practical way to save parts of the page from refreshing, except using frames (or iframes). And those bring up a whole new problem...
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Yes, the advantage of the include is that it lets *you* specify changes in one place and see them reflected on all pages. This is a very good thing, maintenance-wise, when you have information displayed on multiple pages.

Member #