Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Helloooo

    Since I installed PHP5 and Apache2.0 all of my bookmarks leading to http://localhost/some/directory don't work, and I need to replace localhost with localhost:8080, so http://localhost:8080/some/directory

    Is there anywhere in the httpd.conf to let it accept localhost without a port specified?

    Thanks
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    There should be a line that reads something like:
    Code:
    Listen 8080
    Change that to [minicode]Listen 80[/minicode] and you'll be fine. Port 80 is the default HTTP port, thus the assumed one when a port is not specified.

  4. #3
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Ah thanks, I thought I tried that but obviously not! Thanks

    Edit: okay... now it works when I type http://localhost/ into the browsers, but whenever I click a link that points to "http://localhost/directory/directory/" it tries to load it with "localhost:8080"? How can I stop this?
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Just look everywhere in the .conf files for Apache, replacing 8080 with 80 (or, if there's already an entry for 80 but also one for 8080, most likely remove the 8080 entry).

    Apache, by default at least on Linux, listens to port 80. Perhaps you installed a Windows version that doesn't by default, or one of those all-in-one LAMP setups?
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Ah okay, there was one more instance where it had servername:8080, and once I changed that it was fine, presumably that's like, the port that the server operates under or something?

    Thanks anyways ^-^
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    That's exactly the port that the server operates under :-)

  8. #7
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Ah, cool, hehe!

    Thanks!
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com