Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member Karloff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    744
    Member #
    11702
    got a site which using inlcudes


    HTML Code:
    <div class="container"> 
    <?php include('banner_and_links.php');?> 
    <!-- content --> 
    <div class="content">
    but its showing up some weird symbols in the browser output


    HTML Code:
    <div class="container"> 
    
    <div class="banner"> 
    <div class="rot_banner"> 
    <div class="address"> 
    <span class="pen">Peninsula Garage Equipment</span>
    <br />
    what the hell is causing the 

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Is there anything at the beginning of your banner_and_links.php?

  4. #3
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,715
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    This type of thing is usually always related to the content type.

    In the <head> section of your webpage, you should have something like this:

    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />

    Give us a link to your site.


  5. #4
    Senior Member Karloff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    744
    Member #
    11702
    shadow: there is nothing at the start of the file

    can't give a link, but the meta is the same as you gave mlseim.

    when i'm in work on mon i'll try change the extension to .htm instead of .php

    think that can be the only fix as i have deleted all the white space, i'll check back on mon:-)

  6. #5
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    It's certainly the character encoding, as mlseim said. Setting it to utf-8, which everything should use by now, will likely fix the problem.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Karloff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    744
    Member #
    11702
    done some testing on other sites and i think it is a encoding problem. thanks all:-)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com