Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi all,

Quick question - i am just learning the basics of php and trying to understand what it can do. I was wondering that if i had a site with a large picture could php change the image continually (like a gallery effect but without the user having to click next picture all the time).

Maybe on a timed loop? - i know i could just make a flash swf, embed it and leave it constantly playing on a loop, but i am hoping that php can do this for me. Ideally so that if i wish to add newer pictures i would not have to create a new flash file, maybe just upload them into a folder which php can retrieve the images from??

Any thoughts or ideas would be really appreciated!

Cheers _ Edd

ljm
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    PHP itself cannot do the slideshow effect, as a page refresh would be required each time to load the next image. Your best bet is to use something like JavaScript and XML (the XML file generated by PHP). The PHP generated XML file would get the contents of the image directory and put it into a format that can easily be read by JavaScript. Or so I think.

Either way, PHP alone will not do the trick.

Member #
    PHP is a server-side programming language - it processes things on your end, not on the user's end. Imagine a posting system. A letter sent by someone will be forwarded to some address. Now, if a letter has been sent, the sender no longer has any control over that letter. If he/she needs to modify the letter for some reason, the only method would be to resend the letter. The same applies here; PHP has no control over the client's browser.

You will need Javascript - probably in a library - to do this.