Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    1565
    Resolved - get_template() failure:

    Hi all,

    Im new to this forum and was curious if anybody could help me out here.

    I have quite a large site which uses the well known Template class called FastTemplate (class.FastTemplate.php3). Everything was ok when the Server PHP version was 4.0.6 and then along came an upagrade to PHP Version 4.3.1 which I then realised caused the well known "Clear Parse Problem" (which I fixed by commenting out) and then it was fine. I go back a week later and now start recieving this error:

    ERROR: get_template() failure: [./templates/]

    I have tried to put full paths to the template directory whenever using the call $tpl = new FastTemplate("/path/to/templates"); but to no avail I still keep getting the same error

    Is there anyone who currently uses FastTemplate still using them successfully (with the same php version)? Or would anybody have a suggestion to solve or fix the problem? (I cannot rewrite the site)

    Presently my server uses:
    Apache Version Apache/1.3.27
    PHP Version 4.3.1
    MySQL 4.0.12
    phpMyAdmin 2.4.0

    Thanks in advance for any suggestion you could help with!
    Andy

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member Black Vivi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    75
    Member #
    1072
    where did u get FastTemplate?
    id have a look if i knew where to get the actual class...
    Download Firebird now!

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    ...and that page is riddled with errors
    JR

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    1565
    Hi,

    Sorry, I forgot to add a link to FastTemplate!

    Thanks filburt1 for adding a link, and yes JR the page is riddled with some errors.

    Recently I have downloaded a Php Benchmarking set from:

    http://pukomuko.esu.lt/phemplate/benchmark/

    which also contains many different template classes. This test also contains the FastTemplate Class amongst many other template classes.

    This is worrying to me though because, even if at some stage I need to move on from FastTemplates, what is there to stop another template class becoming UseLess after another 12 Months or 2 years?

    If any of you were me, what template class do you feel would be a good replacement? or what class would be a good drop in replacement to get me up and running quickly for the short term? Having said all this, I still must focus on the Immediate Objective and Fix for this FastTemplate Class!

    Thanks
    Andy

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Have you thought about dropping the use of template classes and start using includes?

  8. #7
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    You have two options, I believe.

    1. Drop canned-template engines, and do it yourself.

    2. Convert to a well known templating engine, such as Smarty. Which looks quite promising. http://smarty.php.net/

    I'd recommend #1 as that is what I do.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    1565
    Hi All,

    Thanks for the previous replies, however the problem has now been resolved.

    Fix Method:

    *download local dev kit (phpdev)
    *upgrade the dev kit to my servers specs (but for Win32)
    *Import Table Structures
    *Import Table Data - One table at a time with most required first!
    *Got site working until finding which table caused the prob!

    As usual, a simple problem with an over reacting newbie such as myself losing the plot.

    Again thanks for earlier replies, the template class still works with Php 4.3.1 and 4.3.2 however thinking about it after digging like mad I still will consider advice and look at a better upgrade path to prevent further or any future crisis!

    Best Regards
    Andy


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com