Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Pass protect

  1. #1
    Senior Member krazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    1078
    How do you pass protect a certain page. for example, i want to passprotect: entries.html and make the pass krazy and there are certain documents only people with permission should see. How can i ake it so some1 HAS to enter the correct password in order to get to the site, and even if they enter the site http//www.(thesite).com/entries.html, it will ask them the pass again. I tried with java script but they can enter with: http//www.(thesite).com/entries.html
    Ad space - for sale, $19.95/month

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    .htaccess can protect a directory, so you can put this file in a directory and protect it. There's a .htaccess file generator on the homepage of WDF if you know how to use htaccess. On the homepage, click on the "web design tools" dropdown, and then ".htaccess generator". This has been discussed on WDF, and there's plenty of info out there on it. I did it once following some instructions, but I dont know how to do it exactly off the top of my head.

    [searchwdf].htaccess[/searchwdf]

    [searchweb].htaccess[/searchweb]

  4. #3
    Senior Member krazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    1078
    ok. ty. and that search thing u put, there. very nice. lol
    Ad space - for sale, $19.95/month

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I used the generator less than an hour ago myself, it still works perfectly fine
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member krazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    1078
    all right

    i used the generator, when i downloaded the files, it saved as: .htpasswd.htpasswd%20[1]

    1) isnt it just suppose to be: .htpasswd

    ??

    2)also when it says:

    After you have downloaded them, upload .htaccess to the directory on your host you want to protect. Upload .htpasswd to /app/entries. Once you have uploaded the files, the directory should be password-protected!

    arent they both the same directory?

    /app/entries is the directory i want to protect and thats where it says to upload...
    Ad space - for sale, $19.95/month

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    1. Yes, it's extraordinarily hard to make IE use a filename with no actual name, just an extension.
    2. If you told it to put it there, then coincidently they're the same.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Senior Member krazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    1078
    i leave the : .htpasswd.htpasswd%20[1]
    as is?

    cause when i try to rename it, warning box comes up: You must include a extension.
    Ad space - for sale, $19.95/month

  9. #8
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Try it via the command prompt.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  10. #9
    Junior Member Bilal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Planet Bob
    Posts
    8
    Member #
    1851
    My host already have the option to password protect any dir with one click, but you can also do this bu using simple use managers scripts in CGI/PHP (Mostly are free and easy to install)

  11. #10
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Right, CPanel has this built in, and many hosts have CPanel (the best thing ever ).
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com