Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hey Guys
    I am a web designer on a hard(very, very hard) quest to make a similar site to Amazon/ebay.

I have been looking it up and i realise how hard it is going to be, but one way or another i have to do it.
    I will be making it using PHP, MySQL. I am pretty good with HTML and CSS. I have little experience with PHP.

Right now i am reading and applying methods from - Build Your Own Database Driven Web Site Using PHP & MySQL
    I aim to make an ecommerce site first and then carry on with that.

I am not expecting all of my answers from one source.
    However, i am willing to bring all the bits and pieces together and make this happen.

I need all the help i can get! Thanks!!

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Is this for a class or homework/project assignment?
    Is the goal to make something like Amazon/Ebay to complete the assignment, but not really be a real website?

I guess I'm really asking "why" would you spend time creating something like that?

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    What he said...

Here's the deal, It's more than just code, many beginning or aspiring web designers/developers look at someone's source code ( right click, view source ), and think to themselves, I can do that.

What you see when you do that, is the "output" from the server... It's code that any browser can read and display... What goes into creating that code ? On the 2 sites you mentioned, about 15 years of online experince and several hundred very talented web designers, hundreds of servers, thousands of lines of code that generate what you get to see.