Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: WAMP issue

  1. #1
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    I use WAMP all the time since I do a lot of PHP - so today I launch it and now all of a sudden I am getting a permission error when I try to open my site.

    "Forbidden
    You don't have permission to access / on this server."

    I`ve tried restarting everything, now I`m thinking I may have to remove and re-install?
    Beyond that I have no idea what to do - any suggestions?
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,716
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    M.A.

    I'm not a WAMP user (I know, I should be) but I found this:
    http://nicehints.com/how-to-fix-wamp...n-this-server/

    That seems to look like a current post ... it might pertain to your situation.


  4. #3
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Thanks, but that's not the issue. I can get into PHPMyAdmin. The problem is that I can't open any of my project folders or load the pages to see them in the browser.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,716
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    That sounds like a CHMOD issue (directory permissions).
    I think the default is 644.

    Perhaps it globally set all of them to a different permission?


  6. #5
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    But I shouldn't have to set permissions on my local machine?
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    You check to see if IIS or any other service got turned on ? You're right, running as local host and connecting as local host... Permissions are assumed..

    Window updates have been particular nasty the past 2 cycles... That's why I've pretty much been absent here... Still spring through last months garbage... And get notification yesterday of a "mid cycle" update...

    Anyway, there was a windows update a the last cycle that actually changed permissions on some system folders that even logged in as admin on the machine you can't change... Seems as MS didn't like 3rd party programs putting stuff in this folders... A friend has been using neat receipts for about 2 years, all their business receipts and invoices were saved in this location... Neat pushed out a patch, but unless you did it in time... It couldn't even copy your files from that locked down directory.

    Check IIS, then see when your last windows updates were... See if perhaps MS has now decided to screw with people running WAMP.

  8. #7
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Yep - there was an update the night before -I am exasperated, because I have set my machine to run updates only when I say so, but this one ran automatically for some reason.

    I'm working on the issue - I can get in by using 127.0.0.1 but it's still a PITA.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  9. #8
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Make sure your hosts file didn't get trashed...

    Windows\system32\driver\etc\hosts ( no extension on the file )

    Should be an entry for

    Localhost 127.0.0.1

    Make sure there's not a # in front of the entry.. MS thought that was a security issue once before if you're not running IIS actively. If you're running IIS they tend to leave that file alone.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Oh... And all of the machine I manage, are managed for updates using WSUS server. ( meaning I control what and when updates are applied ), but MS pushed out 2 updates last week, that skipped my server, or should I say, my server could not control them.

  11. #10
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    My hosts file seems OK -

    ::1 localhost
    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    #127.0.0.1 localhost
    #::1 localhost

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    Quote Originally Posted by Webzarus, post: 250321, member: 27723
    Oh... And all of the machine I manage, are managed for updates using WSUS server. ( meaning I control what and when updates are applied ), but MS pushed out 2 updates last week, that skipped my server, or should I say, my server could not control them.
    I think that's what happened here - I have always set things so that I can decide when or even if to apply updates, but it seems one got through...I can't figure out what it changed, though.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com