Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member Seldimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kozani, Greece
    Posts
    488
    Member #
    409
    Hello.
    I have a problem with an include I used ...
    Here is the page = http://tutorials.webmastersplanet.com/
    The odd one is that if I use include "left.php" it works fine but when I put include "http://tutorials.webmastersplanet.com/left.php" it gives an error :

    Warning: main(): stream does not support seeking in /home/wplanet/public_html/tutorials/head.php on line 33

    Line 33 containts only the include line
    I don't use the 1rst one because I will have to copy left.php to all the subfolders.

    Can anyone help ???
    - Webmaster's Planet . Greek Vortal For Webmasters ...
    - MyPortFolio - View My Creations

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member assassingod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    112
    Member #
    307
    you can't use http:// in includes, which is why you are getting that error.

    Try requiring the file instead
    assassingod - vB.org Moderator :ichatsmile:

  4. #3
    Senior Member Seldimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kozani, Greece
    Posts
    488
    Member #
    409
    Well I include with the path of server because using ../bla is not useful for tha case
    - Webmaster's Planet . Greek Vortal For Webmasters ...
    - MyPortFolio - View My Creations

  5. #4
    Senior Member assassingod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    112
    Member #
    307
    Use require instead
    assassingod - vB.org Moderator :ichatsmile:

  6. #5
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    You can use a file's absolute system path to include it. That will make it independent of the domain name.

    e.g. include('/home/wplanet/public_html/left.php');

    Even if this code it being accessed from tutorials.webmastersplanet.com, it will be included. The problem with including through a full domain name is that if you have variables in left.php, they will not be available in the head.php.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com