Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member thuffner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    165
    Member #
    1363
    Went to their website and downloaded it. Tried to edit the config.inc.php file with my info and it never works.

    I just don't get it. How many times am I supposed to change values in the config file? When I search for the term 'host' in the file, for example, I find it three times. Do I change all of these values for host or what?!

    :angry:
    BondMovies.com - "Nobody Does It Better."

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    I would also like to know how this is done, i downloaded it and couldnt get very far

  4. #3
    Senior Member Gemini ISP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    243
    Member #
    3510
    you have to set the config file to link to your mysql database -- host is localhost
    user / pass
    Mas
    Gemini-isp.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Extract all the files and edit config.inc.php's variables for the main configuration. Read the documentation as it tells you what variables need editing.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    May sound stupid, but make sure you've downloaded the version that has file extension PHP and not PHP3 (or vica versa, depending on your servers config)

    I managed to screw that up the first time I downloaded it.
    S. Rosland

  7. #6
    Senior Member thuffner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    165
    Member #
    1363
    I still don't understand how many times I am supposed to replace 'host' with my hostname.

    Also, what about database name?
    BondMovies.com - "Nobody Does It Better."

  8. #7
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    I still don't understand how many times I am supposed to replace 'host' with my hostname.
    What do you mean? Are you unable to store your changes, or do you mean altering the host value doesn't work?

    You say you've found 3 entries for 'HOST'.

    On my own config, it's only one:
    $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'HOST'
    equals to:
    $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://localhost/phpmyadmin';

    on my system

    All other references for 'HOST', is what you have defined your host to be in the preceding:
    $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri']=' yourDefinition '

    The installation documentation also says it's possible to leave that particular field empty:
    Starting with version 2.3.0, you can try to leave this
    parameter empty, because the program tries to auto-detect its
    proper value
    Obviously your username and password must be set in the following two lines:
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'yourUsername';
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'yourPassword;
    If you've installed PHPMyAdmin in the root catalog of your server (either your testing server/own PC, or hosting server) it should work.

    As long as you've downloaded the correct version for your system
    http://WhatEverHostName/phpmyadmin/ Should bring up the index page (if it's able to connect to your MySql Database)

    It should be very easy to set up. (Was on my system )
    S. Rosland

  9. #8
    Senior Member thuffner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    165
    Member #
    1363
    THANK you!

    EDIT: Just wish I knew how to award Turtle Dollars. When I do, I will award you!
    BondMovies.com - "Nobody Does It Better."

  10. #9
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    You're welcome :classic:
    S. Rosland


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com