Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I am completely new to PHP and MySQL and I have a great deal of learning to do before I get to the stage that I am asking about here but I just want to know if it is theoretically possible before I start doing all the research I need to do for my site.

What I want to do is an HTML/JavaScript form that allows a user to upload a thumbnail and large picture (both same). The thumbnail should hyperlink (HTML) to the large pic.

To sum up: the user uploads a thumbnail with a hyperlink to a big pic also uploaded at same time to MySQL database.

I know (in theory!) that it is possible to upload the pics I am really just wondering if it is possible to do the hyperlink between the 2 pages.

Phew, clear as mud there.

Thanks
    Lpine

Member #
    You might try to save the hyperlink info with the thumb and when outputting the picture just format it with HTML, that should give you the hyperlink, though I'm not very familiar with MySQL so maybe someone else knows of a solution.

[Li] Brad
    "Art strives for form, and hopes for beauty." - George Bellows

Member #
    you want an image gallery? if you are I suggest http://www.4homepages.de/

Member #
    Liked
    137 times
    It sounds like you wish to store a thumbnail and a link on your site, but the link points to the big pic on someone else's site? Either way, storing the pic and link is easy, as well as referencing them both. Having users upload it is a tad more complicated. Not quite sure how to do it, but it's obviously possible, as our avatars are done in this exact same way.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

Admin at houseofhelp.com

Member #