Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: APACHE

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MEXICO
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    4147
    Hi

    I just installed phptriad i started apache and test http://localhost and then i tried http://(myipnumber) worked for me, then i ask some people to go to http://(myipnumber) 3 people could not get in and get a dns error from Iexplorer just 1 people was able to see the actual page i found something in common this person has ww.intercable.net ISP the same ISP that i have and we are both on cable modems ok how can i config apache to let everyone in??

    and how can i change my horrible IP number and make something nice like http://mypage.com??

    pardon my english im spanish native if someone doesnt understand i can try to explain it better

    please help

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Your ISP probably blocks port 80, most do. I'd check into it.

    For changing your ip - go to www.dyndns.com for a free something.kicks-***.org/homeip.net etc. Most domain registrars can also forward mydomain.com to an IP - it's in the control panel.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Senior Member Gemini ISP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    243
    Member #
    3510
    believe or not most isp's dont block port 80 --

    andrezweb; you have to make sure your giving the users the public ip number and not the local ip number. that what is seems like the problem can be -- if you can see it locally and your users cant .. Example if you use something like 192.168 which is a private ip -- when u goto http://localhost -- it goes to 127.0.0.0 which only ur computer can see -- as far as yourdomain.com pointing to your local computer you first need to find out your public ip number which can start with 68.172.x.x. or similar -- apache listens on port 80 but can also listen on 81 or 8080 -- then u can use a service like www.dyndns.com to have a domain point to your ip number -- or any host can do it for you .. some charge, some free
    --

    hope this info helps
    Mas
    Gemini-isp.com

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MEXICO
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    4147
    Ey how can i know my public ip i tried some diferent ips i get from geting a /dns over Irc and i still cant get someone to see my index but the person that is in my same ISP

  6. #5
    Senior Member Gemini ISP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    243
    Member #
    3510
    http://tracert.com/cgi-bin/trace.pl

    goto that site and it will tell you your current ip number --
    Mas
    Gemini-isp.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com