Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I have been optimizing my site for a few years and increasing traffic. My competitors and I have been increasing at the same rate over the last couple of years. In July one of my competitors had a huge jump in their Alexa and Compete rankings. I think the traffic for that month was around 1 million where we typically are around 5000. Shortly after that happened they moved to the top of google for our desired keywords. 90% of the traffic was from India and it was all for the same search phrase.
    My two thoughts about this are:
    1) There has been a lot of question if the Alexa ranking really means anything. I think this proves it does given that you have proper SEO in place.
    2) What could have caused this?
    Rob Dalton (Kolea Rentals)

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    Sounds like maybe someone else figured out that Alexa rankings mean something and is now offering "fake" Alexa traffic based out of India. Could even be a bot that sends fake data to Alexa or an app that renders a browser and sends traffic to a site.

Another thing it could be is something like BrowserMob testing of the site. You never know!

Member #
    Steven,
    It would be nice if we could figure it out (ha). I read a lot on the internet about India is the number one place in the world that uses the Alexa toolbar. My guess would be that it is a buy clicks deal based out of India. I just am trying to figure out which one.

Member #
    Liked
    205 times