Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: SEO Help

Member #
    Hello guys. I'm a web designer in NY and I just started getting into SEO. Now I have optimized plenty of sites, however when it comes to mine I can't seem to up my google rankings! I have way more inbound links, pages index, and traffic then all my competitors. But the difference is that they have google ranks of 3 or 4 and I have 0! I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here, but it's really starting to frusterate me because I work long hours on promoting my website, but nothing seems to be happening. Can anyone give me any advice?

jj1
    Member #
    I'm also a web designer up against sites with higher pr (I was pr1 but am now - as of yesterday pr2) - some I'm now beating with a mix of good on-page seo and incoming links but others I'm not.
    Presumably, with your external links you're using a mix of anchor text to make it look "natural" otherwise - I've heard - G might discard some links as spam? - eg for mine I use "web design bury st edmunds", "website design bury st edmunds", "Bury st edmunds web design", "affordable web design bury st edmunds", "web design in bury st edmunds suffolk" as well as some (eg on blog posts) "john", and some "company name" or plain urls etc
    Also presumably you're taking advantage of designing the customer sites by putting your "designed by" link at the bottom of each client's site?
    I also try for a mix of incoming links - directories, forums, blog postings, articles, social bookmarking/media/news sites such as squidoo, mixx, digg etc
    Also remember a high pr site link can be worth lots of little links.

Member #