Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I've been doing a little research into the best methods for "clean" (white hat) SEO techniques and I'm still learning.
    An acquaintance, who is college trained in web design and marketing, has suggested that a web sites most important key word or search words/phrases should be featured prominently in headline text (h1, h2, h3...).
    My website is a content rich web site with dozens of informational articles, which I am continuing to write and add daily or weekly. I used my h1 tag for my biggest main page headline (only one h1 tag on the site) and I'm using the h2 tag for all my article headlines, which include my good keywords and search phrases.
    Is there a big difference between how search engines view an h1 tag vs. an h2 tag? Will an h1 tag be given greater importance or standing than an h2 tag? Would I be better off changing my article headlines (more search phrases) to h1 tags (adjusting the h1 and h2 parameters in my styles.css file) or will I be fine as is?
    My research has told me that 90+% of SEO work is having lots of RICH CONTENT on your website and the other 5%-10% is the extra-terrestrial algorithmic quantum physic study of methods for predicting possible patterns of behavioral movement amongst unknown secret sub-atomic particles thought to exist within "The Google."
    BUT... before I start working on my own theories of Google Quantum Mechanics, I want to be sure and get my first full 90% of that theoretical equation - Good Rich Content (properly prepared, tagged, and coded to capture those spider's attentions). So, any assistance in how best to place, code, and input my keyword phrases for maximum SEO exposure, would be MOST APPRECIATED!