Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi,

im pretty new to SEO, so that gives you an idea of the kind of tools im looking for - i dont need to deeply analyze my competitors as itd probably just confuse me! but what id like to do is have a good idea of what keywords to go for for this specific category, some idea of the best pages internally to put them, and an idea of what other keywords people searched for to get to the same category/term as mine.

Ive researched this and just found tons of stuff, too much to decide whats good and whats a waste of time, some tools ive noticed are more specified to 'old' seo - meta tags etc, and some tools that analyse other sites in such a complex way that the information is no use to me - i dont understand it.

Some things ive acquired so far:

RAGE SEKeyword (dont really understand what the advanced options do..)
    Firefox addons: wordpot, nodofollow (although im yet to get the hang of these..)

anyone recommend anything else? also been looking through SEOmoz's paid membership..

i simply need some good free tools that will help me confidently choose keywords that have a good chance of being effective - i want to keep in mind the fact that some keywords will be overused on bigger sites with more credibility than my new site, too, and not just use a 'most popular keyword' tool.

the blog i want to SEO is sort of 'media and music', and the site will offer how to articles on getting into the industry, sneek peeks inside or at least thats the general topic of the blog. itd be great to get some help and im sorry if any of that seemed ignorant, as i said, im new!

emma

jj1
    Member #
    to find out what keywords people most commonly use when searching use