Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Webski

Thread: How long does Google take to remove old page results?

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

How long does Google take to remove old page results?

Hi there, I'm very new to building websites, my very first one is Home - Tibetan Spaniel Association

The dog club I wrote the site for want to make sure as many people in the UK that search for Tibetan Spaniels end up at their site. This new site replaced an old one on the same domain name (not in WordPress), but the page names are completely different, the old ones were all named seemingly randomly....such as '/index_page565.htm' and '/index_page917.htm' and so on. The new site has much more descriptive URL's.

So today I've done some SEO work, connected the site to Google Search Console, installed the Yoast SEO WordPress plugin and uploaded a Sitemap to Google. In the search results Google still shows a lot of the old 'page_index' pages, but the new site has only been live a week or so. I've set up some redirects for some of the more popular pages so they go to the correct new page. For instance the old homepage of Home - Tibetan Spaniel Association now goes to the new homepage (do I have to redirect them all?).

How long will it take for Google to drop the old pages from search results and pick up the new ones? Or is that an impossible question Anything else I need to do?

Cheers, Carl

Member #
    Liked
    187 times
    Have you thought about using noindex on those pages, and if they're not used anymore why not delete them.
    Bleau
    "Give the gift of life, Adopt a child, And an Animal"

Member #
    Liked
    1 times