Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I want to buy a service that offers POP3/SMTP-based web, i.e. what my ISP offers but using my domain. But I don't want web hosting, just to transfer the MX records for my domain so I can use a mail provider.

    If you know what I'm talking about, can you recommend a provider?
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Guest
    You just want a mail server??

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Yup.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Guest
    I know some but there in oz!

    Set one up yourself!
    Freebsd, sendmail voila!

    Our mail server is a p2 200mhz runs freedbsd and sendmail.
    Cost me all of about $150 to buy with a monitor and keyboard.

  6. #5
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I would but due to a crappy router I can't...I can't run stuff on the normal ports because it blocks those ports from the other pooters.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  7. #6
    Guest
    Your router blocks port 23??

  8. #7
    Member Spetnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    39
    Member #
    32
    Try http://www.deerfield.com
    Tehy have some cool plans
    Be vewwy vewwy quiet.... I'm hunting donuts. :-p

  9. #8
    Senior Member kleptos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Dark Carnival
    Posts
    243
    Member #
    110
    Cant you configure your router to allow access to that port?
    .: Kleptos :.

  10. #9
    Guest
    Yes but if a router blocks port 23 it's kinda pointless isnt it??
    I mean thats the 1 of 3 major ports.

  11. #10
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Originally posted by beacon
    Yes but if a router blocks port 23 it's kinda pointless isnt it??
    I mean thats the 1 of 3 major ports.
    If I allow traffic to pass through the router and redirect to my computer, then another computer can't be using e-mail at the same time as me. That's why I don't run Apache on port 80 as well.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com