Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member DeveloperMCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    10509
    I would like both apache and IIS to run on my windows 2003 server and both on port 80. Can I configure IIS to only bind to certain IP addresses, so it won't conflict when I try to start up Apache on a particluar IP address? If so, how? :beard:

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member DeveloperMCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    10509
    well, i ususally don't answer my own question, but happen to find the answer in case others were looking:

    ====

    on this thread someone posted a solution:
    http://forums.devarticles.com/archiv...e-same-machine

    I managed to get it working:

    In this case the problem was that IIS 6.0 has a feature called Socket Pooling that claims all ports for all loaded IP addresses, even if not configured in IIS.

    So, IIS was hogging port 80 on the IP address I'd designated as the Apache address and causing it to not run. I installed Windows 2003 and got IIS running. Then I turned off IIS and installed Apache, associating it with the IP and port that I wanted. Then I turned off the Apache service and restarted IIS.

    Then, what I had to do was:

    1- Extract the httpcfg.exe utility from the support tools area on the Win2003 CD.
    2 - stop all IIS services: net stop http /y
    3 - have IIS listen only on the IP address I'd designated for IIS: httpcfg set iplisten -i 192.168.1.253
    4 - make sure: httpcfg query iplisten (the ip's listed are the only ip addresses that IIS will be listening on and no other)
    5- restart IIS Services: net start w3svc

    Voila! Apache is listening on its default ports on 192.168.1.254 and IIS is listening on its default ports on 192.168.1.253.

  4. #3
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    Question: WHY do you want to run both?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  5. #4
    Junior Member DeveloperMCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    10509
    well, i have a good handful of php and non-microsoft based web apps. There was one web application in particular that was php that said it had to have apache as the server or it wouldn't run. Then there's the serendipity of getting experience with another web server. :-)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com