Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    In XP, I have Apache setup to only start manually, but I'd like to make it a service so it starts whenever the computer is on. Is there any easy way to change this in a conf file somewhere, or do I need to reinstall and choose "Install as service"?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Rince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    183
    Member #
    8318
    Once installed, add apache to the list in Start - All Programs - Startup. Then apache will be run when the machine boots. There are other ways to do it, but that's the way I like best as it's easy to remove things again.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    But that keeps the console window open all the time, which I wanted to avoid.

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    There is probably a better solution, but you can set as a startup item a batch file containing:
    Code:
    net start apache
    Or, for Apache 2,
    Code:
    net start apache2
    I'm sure there's a better solution, though.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    I'm not in front of my home computer at the moment, but I think it won't recognize Apache until the console is started. Otherwise, you get something like "Unrecognized service: 'Apache'".

  7. #6
    Senior Member mossoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Englandshire, United Kingdomsville y'all!
    Posts
    1,111
    Member #
    1206
    Liked
    1 times
    You can register your own custom service:

    c:> sc.exe create "apache" binPath= "c:\path\to\apache.exe"

    Notice the space after binPath=, it won't work without that.

    Once you've registered the service you can take a look at the properties through administrative tools/services and edit it further from there.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    This is exactly what I was looking for! Thanks mossoi and everyone else


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com