Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    13019
    I'm doing a new site for a friend, whose current site is hosted with 1and1.co.uk, and since the package itself is pathetic feature-wise and quite expensive, I have suggested moving to a new host. However, it seems his domain is bundled with the hosting package - there is no option to change the name servers for it, so I believe it's going to have to be moved.

    I usually use godaddy.com for my domains and I like it, but they don't do .co.uk domains.

    So before I do anything, I think I could use some advice on a good independant (no hosting account bundle) UK registrar. Thanks!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Arkette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    102
    Member #
    12297
    I would like to nominate www.nominate.com mainly because this company is run by real people that you can talk to if needs be. I have transferred all my domains (3) to them without any fuss or bother and when one registrar tried to be ackward, nominate sorted it out for me at no extra charge.
    End of Line.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    13019
    They look nice but... I just tried the transfer form on their site, and it says

    Sorry, this transfer program is only for use with .com .net .org .biz .info and .cd domain transfers.

    anything that does .co.uk ?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR USA
    Posts
    116
    Member #
    2175
    Why not just keep 1and1 as the registrar and forward the DNS settings to another nameserver(s).

    I use 1and1 (the U.S. Version wich is much better from what I understand) and you cna forward the domain name... Just select the domain in the control panel, and go to edit DNS settings then change the nameservers to whatever you want.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com