Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    Attempting to get mod_perl to work nice with it (first time installing perl), but having issues. Anyone done this before?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    NM, got it Here are the steps:

    Download and install ActivePerl (link SHOULD work). It's a standard windows installer, so no biggie there.

    Then, (http://perl.apache.org/docs/1.0/os/w...l#PPM_Packages):
    After installing Perl and Apache, you can then install mod_perl via the PPM utility. ActiveState does not maintain mod_perl in their ppm repository, so you must get it from a different location other than ActiveState's site. A quick way to do this is to download the script mpinstall and save it as, for example, mpinstall. Invoking this as perl mpinstall on a command line will take you through a dialogue, based on your configuration, which will determine and install, via ppm, the desired mod_perl ppm package.
    FYI I'm attempting to set up Twiki on InstantRails
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    Okkkkk.... I can run perl scripts from command line, but can't get apache to run them.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Why in the world would you want to run a Perl application at the same time as Rails? :-P

    In all seriousness, though, is there no Rails wiki software you can use?

  6. #5
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    It's for work. Using InstantRails as a quick and dirty webserver test area. Twiki is an access control Wiki, which is what we need. Twiki can also integrate with LDAP (active directory), which should be cool.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  7. #6
    Senior Member hagen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    Member #
    10882
    Liked
    1 times
    hmmmm very long time since I used perl...

    are you using cgi? from what I remember this was probably the most complex bit...

    -Hagen
    Hagen Rose: hagen(at)jxwd(dot)co(dot)uk
    JX Web Development, Bournemouth, Dorset...JXWD.co.uk

  8. #7
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    Thread's 3 years old.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com